for Research in Dermatology

Since 1996 the Heinz Maurer Award is allocated biannually to researchers who have published outstanding results in dermatology and related fields concerning Skin Surface - Modulation of Skin Structure and Function. The award is divided into two relevant categories: Basic Research and Clinical Research which are endowed with € 10.000 each.
Dr. med. Heinz Maurer, the owner and founder of Sebapharma GmbH & Co. KG which is located in Boppard, Germany, installed the award two decades ago with the aim to support the continuous progress in understanding the skin’s physiological and pathological functions in relation to its interactions with the environment as well as other organ systems. This dedication of the pioneer of skin care adjusted to the physiological skin surface pH of 5.5 mirrors Sebapharma’s aim to apply Science for healthy skin to ensure Quality through Research.

On June 28, 2014 a scienitfic symposium titled Review and Preview in Science for Healthy skin was held on the occasion of the 10th conferment of the Heinz Maurer Award the Jury represented by the Chairman, Prof. Wolfgang Gehring to Prof. Johanna Brandner Prof. Johanna Brandner, Laboratory for Cell and Molecular Biology of the Department of Dermatology of the University Hamburg-Eppendorf for her work on “Contribution of tight junction proteins to ion, macromolecule, and water barrier in keratinocytes”, published in the Journal of Investigative Dermatology 2013, and to Dr. Peter Arne Gerber, Dermatological Department of the University of Düsseldorf for his publivcation “EGFR Controls Cutaneous Host Defense and Prevents Inflammation” published in Science Translational Medicine 2013. The symposium following the conferment of the award provided an overview on past, recent, and future developments in the field of skin research, presented by former Heinz Maurer Award winners.